top of page

An Interview with Ruthy Froch


Ruthy Froch is currently performing with the national tour with Fiddler on The

Roof and plays Hodel in the production. She took some time to answer questions about

her experience applying to college for acting.

1. How old were you when you decided to pursue acting as a career?

There wasn’t really a definitive age that I decided to do this, it was more a gradual

realization that this was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

2. How many schools did you apply to?

I actually did early decision NYU/Tisch and got in! If that didn’t happen I was going to be

applying and auditioning for around 15 schools.

3. What was the application/audition process like applying to colleges?

Truthfully, it was very stressful! It’s a lot happening all at once, and you want it all to

work out exactly the way you want it to. But I found in applying and auditioning I just

kept reminding myself to be myself. My essays reflected that my choice in schools

reflected that, and my audition pieces reflected that.

4. Did you have a “back up” plan if acting didn’t work out for you?

I see my “back up plan” as an “in addition to” acting plan! I knew that I wanted to be

artistic no matter what, so I got a minor in producing at NYU and also became a

teaching artist. Two things that also help to foster and grow my artistry and deepen my

craft!

5. What training did you complete that helped you become the actor you are today?

I definitely think that my time at NYU/Tisch helped me become the actor and more

importantly the artist I am today. But training is training, I think continuing to read plays,

seeing theatre, and learning as much as I can always only strengthens and deepens my

Craft.

6. Where did you decide to go to college? How did you make this decision?

I decided to go to NYU/Tisch because academics were really important to me. I loved

that NYU allowed me to be in a conservatory program, but also have rigorous core

classes that challenged me academically.

7. What factors went into what school you decided to attend?

Academics, location, and faculty were all really important to me.

8. How long after graduating were you cast in your first project?

I was cast in a small show that ended up giving me my off-broadway debut two months

after graduation!

9. Did you have to deal with rejection during the application process?

I personally did not because I did early decision and was extremely fortunate. But

rejection is a huge part of this career path, and I am of the mindset that if I do everything

I possibly can to be prepared and do my best work that’s all I can do!

10.When did you get your first agent?

I got my first agent about 5 months after I graduated college.

11.What was the transition from college to working like for you?

Postgrad life is definitely a whirlwind. My experience was a little easier I think because I

had already lived in New York for 4 years and knew my way around, where most of my

friends from other schools had to learn the city. I think something that helped my

transition from college to working was staying in an acting class so I always had

something that I was working towards.

12. Do you have any advice for aspiring actors applying to colleges?

Training is training no matter where you go! It’s important to look at yourself and see

what you really value and want in a program and let that lead you. College auditors are

looking for unique and genuine human beings which you already are! Lean into what

makes you weird and special because there is only one you in the world!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page